DEBSOC – THE DEBATING SOCIETY

The 40th edition of the Annual Frank Thakur Das Memorial Parliamentary Debate (FTD/40) took place within the premises of Kirori Mal College on 7th, 9th and 10th February 2020. With a participation of 32 teams from prestigious institutions across the country and nearly one hundred able adjudicators, this year's FTD was a resounding success. A cross-team consisting of Sushant, Jibran and Gaurika from ex-SRCC, Jindal and Law Faculty won the closely contested finals against Hindu College and was awarded prize money of Rs.39,000/-.



Also, the 29th edition of its Hindi annual parliamentary debate – 'Narendra Singh Pradhan Memorial Debate' on 28th February,1st and 2nd March 2020. With a total of 36 teams, two participants in each team the oldest Hindi parliamentary debate of India was efficiently managed by the Hindi wing of the KMC Debsoc with the required guidance and support from all the staff members associated to the society.



In indulgences, debating rounds were followed by appetising breakfasts, lunches and high teas, enjoyed and appreciated heartily by participants, along with photography sessions for fun. Scheduled timings were adhered to and the tournament was run with minimum delays and in a conducive environment. All 36 teams played the first five round of different genres i.e. history, polity, society, miscellaneous and KMC classic (sex round), consisting the most diverse and thoughtful motions, also the reason why this particular debate has its eminent image in the whole Delhi University Debating Circuit. The team from Hindu College won the NSP debate competition and team from IGNOU stood as the runner up. The end was met on exhilarated notes of success.



Early in the year, The 11th Annual KMC Freshers' PD was organized in college from 20th to 23rd September 2019 in which 40 teams participated. KMC team comprising of Himanshu Khanna, Vinayak and Shamayla Khan won the tournament.



This year had been an astounding year for the number of wins that we achieved this year. The series of win started with a team from the 2nd year bagging the runners up position in JIIT Parliamentary Debate followed by several best speaker and best team prizes in various

conventional debates. In our very own fresher's tournament 'Udbhav', of the two of our teams one of the team was finalist and the other one broke the quarters. Even in the parliamentary format of debating we had appreciable no. of wins with our team winning the prestigious Zakir Hussain Delhi College Parliamentary Debate, the two teams that participated in Ramjas PD both qualified for the quarter finals. Our fresher team had a remarkable win in the fresher's parliamentary debate in SBSCE. Our teams stood runners up in KK Birla Memorial Debate in Hindu and won the Miranda House National Conventional Debate. Apart from this our society won 50+ conventional debates, jams, turnacoat debates and interjector prizes and made our society proud.











